Webinar on Effective Strategies for Undergraduate Geoscience Teaching offered through On the Cutting Edge

(Re)Designing introductory geoscience labs to promote inquiry

Wednesday Feb 20, 2013

Leaders: David McConnell and Katherine Ryker, North Carolina State University

Time: 3 pm Eastern | 2 pm Central | 1 pm Mountain | 12 pm Pacific (one hour)

http://serc.carleton.edu/NAGTWorkshops/careerdev/AcademicCareerTeach2013/feb.html

This webinar is intended for instructors (faculty, graduate students, others) who wish to create introductory geoscience lab experiences that include inquiry-based activities. The webinar will compare and contrast such activities against traditional confirmation labs that are typical of most commercial lab manuals. Participants will have access to examples of whole labs and individual lab activities that correspond with different levels of inquiry as defined by Buck et al. (2008).

Format – The one-hour online webinar will be given via Blackboard Collaborate web conference software with questions and discussion. Participants will receive an email with instructions detailing how to log into the event approximately one week prior to the event.

Registration – Please register online for this webinar. The cost of the webinar is $30 (or $20 for NAGT members; learn more about becoming a member of NAGT on the webinar website). Once you register for the webinar, you can pay the registration fee. Both the webinar registration and registration fee are due byFebruary 13, 2013.

 

Other Events in the Series on Effective Strategies for Undergraduate Geoscience Teaching:

 

March 27, 2013 (Wednesday): Teaching and assessing in-depth understanding of fundamental concepts using concept sketches

Leaders: Steve Reynolds and Julia Johnson, Arizona State University

Time: 12 pm Eastern | 11 am Central | 10 am Mountain | 9 am Pacific

http://serc.carleton.edu/NAGTWorkshops/careerdev/AcademicCareerTeach2013/march.html

 

April 10, 2013 (Wednesday): Energizing your class with ConcepTests: A simple technique to engage students and improve learning

Leaders: David Steer, University of Akron, Jeff Knott, California State University, Fullerton; and Karen Kortz, Community College of Rhode Island

http://serc.carleton.edu/NAGTWorkshops/careerdev/AcademicCareerTeach2013/april.html

 

 

See other On the Cutting Edge events at:

http://serc.carleton.edu/NAGTWorkshops/workshops.html