Heads & Chairs

Heads and Chairs - Presentation

Since 1997, this forum has discussed important issues common to geophysical science departments, including research funding, program assessment, modernization of post-secondary curricula, increasing faculty diversity, and student career planning. It also holds annual workshops immediately prior to the AGU Fall Meeting and offers webinars throughout the year. This group meets jointly on a biennial basis with the Heads and Chairs of Atmospheric Sciences departments.

See a resource from NSF Advance Institutional Transformation Grant recipients.

Like to learn more about Heads & Chairs in general? Visit the Building Strong Geoscience Departments website for resources that highlight strategies and tools from the Building Strong Geoscience Departments project.

Or read our Eos article about the Heads & Chairs meeting at Fall Meeting 2011

Contributing Partners:

Thank you to our 2013 Heads and Chairs Workshop Sponsors:





Michigan Technological University, Department of Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences
University of Hawaii, Department of Geology & Geophysics
University of Vermont, Department of Geography

2012-2013 Board of the AGU Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Science Departments:

John Geissman, University of Texas Dallas (Chair)

Matthew Jones, Sonoma State (Chair Elect)

Sally Sutton, Colorado State University (Past Chair)

Neil Iverson, Iowa State University

Katryn Wiese, City College of San Francisco

Lydia Fox, University of the Pacific

Heads and Chairs Webinars

AGU Education and AGI Geoscience Workforce Development are collaborating on webinars.

Especially geared towards Earth and space science department heads & chairs, but open to all.

AGU Heads and Chairs Workshops

2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006

Get Updates

Are you a Head or Chair? Would you like to receive information about activities and issues?
Join the listserv